Aisling Walsh’s Maudie leads 2018 IFTA Awards Nominations

By 12 January 2018Listen, News & Events

Aisling Walsh’s Maudie has received six 2018 Irish Film and Television Academy award nominations, with Emer Reynolds’ The Farthest closely behind with five.

Huge congrats to all the nominees but especially these two filmmakers for their incredible work.

Watch our Women in Film&TV Masterclass Series here, including a Writing/Directing Masterclass with Aisling Walsh and a DOP Masterclass with The Farthest cinematographer Kate McCullough.

Here is the full list of#IFTA2018 nominees


Feature film

Cardboard Gangsters
Handsome Devil
The Killing of a Sacred Deer
Michael Inside
Song of Granite


Frank Berry for Michael Inside
John Butler for Handsome Devil
Martin McDonagh for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Mark O’Connor for Cardboard Gangsters
Aisling Walsh for Maudie


Frank Berry for Michael Inside
Stephen Burke for Maze
John Butler for Handsome Devil
Nick Kelly for The Drummer and The Keeper
Martin McDonagh for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Actor in a leading role

John Connors in Cardboard Gangsters
Colin Farrell in The Killing of a Sacred Deer
Dafhyd Flynn in Michael Inside
Fionn O’Shea in Handsome Devil
Tom Vaughan-Lawlor in Maze

Actress in a leading role

Sarah Bolger in Halal Daddy
Saoirse Ronan in Lady Bird
Ann Skelly in Kissing Candice

Actor in a supporting role

Barry Keoghan in The Killing of a Sacred Deer
Jacob McCarthy in The Drummer and The Keeper
Andrew Scott in Handsome Devil
Fionn Walton in Cardboard Gangsters
Barry Ward in Maze

Actress in a supporting role

Niamh Algar in The Drummer and The Keeper
Sarah Carroll in The Limit Of
Deirdre O’Kane in Halal Daddy
Victoria Smurfit in The Lears
Fionna Hewitt Twamley in Cardboard Gangsters

George Morrison feature documentary

The 34th
A Cambodian Spring
The Farthest
No Stone Unturned
The Silver Branch

Live-action short

Cry Rosa
For You
The Secret Market
The Tattoo
Time Traveller

Animated short

An Béal Bocht
Angela’s Christmas
Late Afternoon

International film

Lady Bird
Shape of Water
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

International actor

Timothee Chamelet in Call Me By Your Name
Ethan Hawke in Maudie
Gary Oldman in Darkest Hour
Sam Rockwell in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

International actress

Sally Hawkins in Maudie
Sally Hawkins in Shape of Water
Nicole Kidman in The Killing of a Sacred Deer
Frances McDormand in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri



Acceptable Risk
Game of Thrones
Line of Duty
Striking Out


David Caffrey for Peaky Blinders
Rob Quinn for Ackley Bridge
Steve Saint Leger for Vikings
Dearbhla Walsh for Fargo


Ronan Bennett for Gunpowder
Malcolm Campbell for Ackley Bridge
Conor McPherson for Paula
Antoine O’Flatharta for Grace Harte

Actor in a leading role

Richard Dormer in Rellik
Adrian Dunbar in Line Of Duty
Brendan Gleeson in Mr Mercedes
Cillian Murphy in Peaky Blinders
Chris O’Dowd in Get Shorty

Actress in a leading role

Caitriona Balfe in Outlander
Elaine Cassidy in Acceptable Risk
Denise Gough in Paula
Amy Huberman in Striking Out
Ruth Negga in Preacher

Actor in a supporting role

Liam Cunningham in Game of Thrones
Moe Dunford in Vikings
Aidan Gillen in Game of Thrones
Owen McDonnell in Paula
Jason O’Mara in Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Actress in a supporting role

Angeline Ball in Acceptable Risk
Eva Birthistle in The Last Kingdom
Jessie Buckley in Taboo
Charlie Murphy in Peaky Blinders
Genevieve O’Reilly in Tin Star



Tom Comerford for Pilgrimage
Richard Kendrick for Song of Granite
Seamus McGarvey for The Greatest Showman
Cathal Watters for Peaky Blinders

Costume design

Consolata Boyle for Victoria and Abdul
Sarajane Ffrench O’Carroll for The Lodgers
Susan O’Connor Cave for Vikings
Leonie Prendergast for Pilgrimage


Tony Cranstoun for The Farthest
Dermot Diskin for Peaky Blinders
Uná Ní Dhonghaíle for Three Girls
Tadhg O’Sullivan for Song of Granite

Make-up and hair

Julie-Ann Ryan and Niamh Glynn for The Cured
Clare Lambe and Sevlene Roddy for Into the Badlands
Lorraine Glynn and Sonya Dolan for The Man Who Invented Christmas
Dee Corcoran and Tom McInerney for Vikings

Original music

Ray Harman for The Farthest
Stephen McKeon for Pilgrimage
Stephen Rennicks for Maze
John Gerard Walsh for The Drummer and The Keeper

Production design

Stephen Daly for Into the Badlands
Joe Fallover for The Lodgers
Mark Geraghty for Vikings
John Hand for Maudie


Steve Fanagan and Kieran Horgan for The Farthest
Ronan Hill, Onnalee Blank and Mathew Waters for Game of Thrones
Karl Merren and Brendan Deasy for Into the Badlands
Marco Dolle, Steve Munro and Garret Farrell for Maudie


Tim Chauncey for The Ash Lad: In the Hall of the Mountain King
Ian Benjamin Kenny and Enda O’Connor for The Farthest
Ed Bruce and Nicholas Murphy, Screenscene for Game of Thrones
Tailored Films and Bowsie Workshop for The Lodgers